Running On Empty

Sometimes I feel like I give and give and give and then give some more. It’s like I have given all I can and people are still looking to give them something. Have you ever been there? Me too, more times than I would like to count. This one particular situation has to do with my time. It maybe someone who is wanting your time, like my situation, or maybe it’s money, advice, or something else they’re wanting from you. But whatever it is they’re wanting from you I’m sure you know what it is. It’s like this feeling of being stretched beyond stretched until you think your going to break, but you don’t, even though you sometimes wish you would so people would just stop asking of you.

It hurts sometimes when I give and give and give and feel like I have nothing else to give, especially when people are still wanting something from me. I try to give what I don’t have and that’s why it hurts. I’m trying to give them what they ask for, but I don’t have it to give because I haven’t let Jesus fill me up first. When I do this, it stresses me out. I often find myself in a funk and I don’t like that. It is only when I let Jesus fill me up that I can give not what I have but what He has given to me.

29
I took this picture a while back and who knew that it would go so well with this quote that really STUCK out to me. God is working in our lives we just have to take time to look and listen to Him.
I have been learning the past week how important it is to really spend some time with God, even if it’s just 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, or an hour, just as long as you spend time with him daily. He’s waiting for us to spend time with Him.We have to be filled up with Him in order to do what is going to be required of us throughout our day. Remember what Jesus said in John 15:4-5 (NIV)
Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.

As long as we remain in God we are able to handle anything that comes our way with God’s help because He equips us with everything we need. When we choose not to remain in God that’s when things get kind of mess and chaotic and we feel like we can’t handle it. Philippians 4:13 (NKJV) says: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
The NIV bible says it like this, “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

If we want to be able to handle the things that come our way we are going to have to stay connected to God. If we don’t we are going to be running on empty and we wont be ready to handle the things that come our way. When we’re not ready for the things that come our way, the devil sees it as his opportunity to attack us at one of our weakest point. When we’re not ready for his attacks we are more temped to sin. It shows in our attitudes, they way we talk to other people, and in our relationships.

I have to be filled up with God’s power, love, and grace in order to operate in God’s power, love, and grace. He gives to us, so that, we can give to others. After all what better way is there to point others to God than when we are operating in God’s power.

I don’t know about you but I want to be a Jesus girl who is filled up with God’s power and ready to take on the things that come my way throughout and handle them with God’s help.

About alexandrews05

I love JESUS and I love music. I want to live for him each day. He is the reason I'm alive because He laid down His life for me, to SAVE me, and to give me eternal life through Him. I know that God has a great calling on my life and I want to do whatever it takes to be in the center of His will for my life. These blogs are about my everyday life and making my imperfect progress along the way. Matthew 5:8 Romans 12:1-2 Isaiah 61-62 1 Peter 2:9 Jeremiah 29:11 Mark 11:23-24
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

