Imperfect Progress Is Still Progress

I just recently finished a devotional by Lysa TerKeurst called Unglued. I remember going into the bookstore looking through the women’s book section and I came a cross this title. Unglued. I thought that sounds like me,  I feel like that, this book must have been written for me. So I bought it. I took it home and it set on my shelf for the longest time. I don’t really like to read. I know what your probably thinking, why buy a book if you don’t like to read? I thought it would be good for me to read it, BUT it doesn’t do me any good just sitting on my shelf.

A few months ago I decided it’s time for me to get serious about having my quiet time with God consistently and not just when I feel like it. Honestly sometimes I don’t feel like it having my quiet time. Sometimes I want to have my quiet time but I get distracted with everyday stuff and I procrastinate saying I will have it later. But what really happens is I push God to the back burner and sadly most of the time when that happens I never get around to having my quiet time with God. It’s those time when I don’t feel like having it, that’s when I need really need to have it. If I’m not filling my mind with God’s word I’m not prepared to stand up against the devils lies. Ephesians 6:10-11 “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take a stand against the devils schemes.” Ephesians 6:16 “In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.” Our shield of faith is God’s word and knowing what it says. If we don’t know what God’s word says then we wont be able to know that the devil is lying to us.

My emotions where out of my control and I couldn’t seem to get a handle on them. I knew something had to be done. So that’s when I started reading the devotional Unglued. I was so glad to find a book that written from REAL struggles. This book does not offer a magic formula to make these emotions disappear. It offers the hope of Imperfect Progress. That’s what I have been striving for. So on my journey through this devotional I became more aware of my reactions to situations where I felt my emotions stirring all up in me wanting to come out.  And there were times were I wanted to let them come out but I had to rein them back in.

I can’t say that I have even come close to having mastered this because I haven’t. There are still times I mess up and lose my cool with people. But there are times when I choose to have one better reaction, at least one better reaction this week. So not only has this devotional helped me to choose to have better reactions and to know that my feelings are indicators not dictators and just because I feel one way doesn’t mean I have to react that way, it has also helped me have a more consistent quiet time.

About alexandrews05

I love JESUS and I love music. I want to live for him each day. He is the reason I'm alive because He laid down His life for me, to SAVE me, and to give me eternal life through Him. I know that God has a great calling on my life and I want to do whatever it takes to be in the center of His will for my life. These blogs are about my everyday life and making my imperfect progress along the way. Matthew 5:8 Romans 12:1-2 Isaiah 61-62 1 Peter 2:9 Jeremiah 29:11 Mark 11:23-24
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

