Time With God And Distractions

2

Do you ever sit down to spend time with God and your ready to hear and learn from Him? And right after you start it’s like the distractions start happening. Like people want to talk to you all of the sudden, someone wants you do something, you start thinking of your to-do list, and so on. That’s what usually happens to me. Like every time. Some times they even get the best of me and I get side track. And that leads to procrastination for me.

I often wonder why things distract me when I’m trying to do the right thing. I mean, I’m trying to spend time with God and it feels like it’s impossible to have this one moment of silence or this one moment where no one interrupts “My Time” with God. This is a struggle for me most days, to find that moment of silence or that moment where no one interrupts me while I’m trying to spend time with God.

I have found usually the best time for that to happen is when everyone is out of the house or some place where I’m by myself. There are still some distractions that try to take my attention of God. But I find it a little more easy to deal with those distractions since it’s usually just me there. I watched an interview Lysa TerKeurst did with her pastor, Steven Furtick. He said something that kind of stuck with me about struggles. “I look at them as an indication that I must be valuable to God and His purpose. I used to think they were a sign I was doing something wrong. The struggle is actually a sign of life. Struggle is a sign you haven’t been conquered yet. If your still struggling with an issue, that’s a sign that you haven’t given up yet. That’s a sign your still in the fight. The reason there is an attack against me right now is because there’s something valuable in me. If I’m under attack, if my family is under attack, if my ministries under attack, and my mind is under attack there must be something valuable that is under siege, and so I’m going to protect it.” – Steven Furtick

My time with God is VERY important and I have to do whatever it takes to protect that time and to make sure that I am spending time with Him. And if I don’t protect that time , I will become more susceptible to the lies of the devil. I just found that so eye opening to look at your struggles that way . It is made me think of my own struggles in a different way. I hope this is an encouragement to you. Just because your still struggling with something doesn’t mean your doing something wrong, it means you haven’t given up the fight yet.

(Ephesians 6:10-17) –  10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Here’s the link to the interview Lysa TerKeurst did with Pastor Steven Furtick http://lysaterkeurst.com/2014/02/im-not-prepared-to-fight-my-struggles/

About alexandrews05

I love JESUS and I love music. I want to live for him each day. He is the reason I'm alive because He laid down His life for me, to SAVE me, and to give me eternal life through Him. I know that God has a great calling on my life and I want to do whatever it takes to be in the center of His will for my life. These blogs are about my everyday life and making my imperfect progress along the way. Matthew 5:8 Romans 12:1-2 Isaiah 61-62 1 Peter 2:9 Jeremiah 29:11 Mark 11:23-24
This entry was posted in Struggles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

